Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Top cap Garmin mounts
  • deadkenny
    Free Member

Been looking at top cap Garmin mounts, like the K Edge, and wondering if anyone’s had long term experience of these and what they think. Like them, hate them, any drawbacks?

Specifically interested in the type where it’s the top cap that’s the mount, rather than a fly out from the top cap. Though might consider the top cap with fly out type.

I’ve currently got the Garmin fly out which is too far out front and the rubber band mount which slides around and vibrates. A fly back may have issues with fit with a short stem and depending on stack height. Plus I have other things on the bar already for lights/battery. Simple clip into top cap seems simple and neat to me.

MSP

I have been running one for a couple of months, I like it a neat solution IMO.

The only downside is that you have to remove the insert (2 small alan bolts) to remove the cap. As I put it on a new bike and have been doing some experimenting with spacers it was a bit of an annoyance, but now I have it dialled in I don’t see it being an ongoing problem.

singlespeedstu

I’m using a Barfly which mounts on the bars but puts the Garmin over the top of the stem and back from the bars a little.
    I did look at topcap mounts but they seem to position the unit too far back.

Superficial
    Free Member

I broke the back of my Garmin by kneeing it. This was with a backwards-facing SRAM mount over the stem, I can only imagine it’s worse if it’s fixed to the back of the stem (I.e. closer to knees). On the MTB, I struggle to look past the rubber band bar mounts. They work well and will stretch/snap in an accident.

thabo
    Free Member

K edge topcap. I have had it for about a year and very happy with it. I did crash into a tree a few months ago and broke the plastic insert. Better that and not my Garmin that broke. K edge in the US were great and sent me the spare insert for a few quid.

orangeboy