Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 43 total)
  • Time to pack it in?
  • grenosteve
    Free Member

I’m becoming increasingly frustrated at work (I’m a designer, no quallifications, just learnt on the job over the years). I’m talking, so fed up that its making it hard to do anything after work because I’m so bummed out. Not good right? 🙁

The job market sucks though (been applying for the scarce jobs that come up for over a year), and it’s an easy but stressful job, that I’m very good at, and that pays very well. Problem is I’m making it a hard job because I can’t be bothered with it (deadlines missed, mistakes being made etc..), and I don;t feel I’m on top of my game anymore.

Am I being naive in thinking that I’m going to spend half my life at work, so should enjoy it? or should I accept that working is doing something you hate for 8 hours a day to get some cash in? I also know other people that are worse off than me and would love a job like mine, so I’d feel quite guilty about packing it in…

I have no debts, and could live on half my wage. I’ve been thinking of going self employed and working part time, but I’ve tried it before and I spent more time working/stressing than ever!

I can’t decide what to do in all honesty… But I’m fed up of being tired and stressed out!

Anyone been through similar and have any advice?

wallop

I can’t offer any advice but if it’s any consolation I feel exactly the same.

tomkerton
    Free Member

Would your work consider a sabbatical? It sounds like a fairly cushdy job to be fair and a year off might just set you up right again. It would be a shame to chuck it in only to have to work 8 hours a day in a job you still hate earning half what you earn now.

devash
    Free Member

Can you not get signed off with stress for a couple of months, take a nice long holiday, and then come back and give the job another shot?