Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • Thoughts on Pimp Factory Wheels
  • heihei

Looking at getting a set of factory wheels. Need to be 20mm on the front, QR rear, and to comfortably run 2.3 – 2.4″ tyres. Short list is:

DT EX1750
    Crossmax SX (’09)
    Easton Havoc
    Roval Traversee

Anyone got any thoughts on strengths / weaknesses of the above, and is there anything obvious I’m missing out??

njee20
    Free Member

Don’t get factory wheels, just custom build. You’ll be able to do lighter/stronger/more reliable/cheaper (usually more than one!).

oneoneoneone
    Free Member

i would agree with njee20 i would also custom build (even if it is through CRC)

guitarhero
    Free Member

if you’ve got the cash there’s no reason not to go for a pimp factory set of wheels. Can recommend the Xmax SX’s, Very light for their strength, Great rim (unavailable in custom build) and pimp as Huggie Bear.
    I’ve been running two sets of first generation SX’s for a couple of years and they are still going strong with occasional lubing.
    I bought spare spokes but so far haven’t needed them and still on the original bearings.

Count
    Free Member

I put Traversee wheels on my Enduro as they worked out cheaper than a custom build and have a great spec.

Tried both custom and factory and both are fine, shop around and get what you like. I have factory mavics on a couple of bikes and these are pretty good, I am going to try Fulcrums to replace a wheel that is about to expire.

gingerflash

I too would go for custom wheels, rather than factory built. Factory wheels look flash, but often represent poorer value and spares can be expensive or hard to come by.

For a light 20/QR and a wide tyre, I’d go for Hope Pro2s or DT240s with 719s or Stans Arch. For ultimate strength heavy-duty wheels, I wouldn’t know what to get.

chakaping
    Free Member

I’ll second Count about the Traversee wheels.