Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • Those studying for a second degree…
  • mikey74
    Free Member

How do you fund yours? I’m not interested in hearing from those whose companies are paying for them or they’ve received a windfall from somewhere.

I’m currently studying a Cert. Higher Education in Geology but I am now quite keen on upgrading to the BSc, but that is another £19k.

geetee1972
    Free Member

I sold my flat. This was back in 2002 though and I was still single with no dependents. The total cost was about £35k for fees and living expenses for 18 months.

Caher

evening job during the week and worked on building sites at weekends.

nickjb
    Free Member

I had a little bit of sponsorship money, can’t remember who from. The college had a list of possible people to tap up. There was quite a bit out there especially if you fall into some kind of niche. The women on my course had about 4 bursaries each. Shortfall was made up by working in the holidays. In retrospect this wasn’t a great plan as it impacted on my project work quite heavily. Not sure what plan B would’ve been though, maybe debt

mikey74
    Free Member

I am single, with no dependants. I working full time with study being in the evenings.

The thing is I could probably afford to pay for it by breaking it down into monthly increments but it would leave me with no float in my monthly cash flow, which I prefer to have.

dmorts

Career Development Loan? I used that for my masters degree

mikey74
    Free Member

I’ll have a look into the CDLs, thanks.

BigButSlimmerBloke
    Free Member

OU. 360 credits needed with credits being around £500 for 30, so likely to be around £6k. f/t employment, study evenings and one weekend away a month for “catch up sessions” whether I need them or not. That said what would be a 3 year course full time is likely to be 6 or 7 assuming no breaks.

cokie

Work at a University..