Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 156 total)
  • The urge to ditch the lid……..
  • RustySpanner

Anyone else get it?

I know it’s stupid – I’m a bloody neuro rehab coach ffs, I work with people with acquired brain injuries.
    And I’m firmly of the opinion that wearing one saved my stepdaughter’s life a few years ago

Buuuuut…….I’ve developed such an aversion to the sodding thing that I started leaving it behind on minor solo jaunts.
    But as much as I enjoy not wearing one, I know I’m being selfish – I don’t want my family to have to purée my food and feed me for the rest of my life because I tried my luck one too many times.
    So the lid goes back on, and I hate it.

Anyone else get the urge, or the subsequent guilt?

bikeneil
    Free Member

No. Buy a new helmet that you like wearing.

scotroutes

Helmets are so light, well-vented and comfy these days that I don’t mind wearing one at all.

globalti
    Free Member

Wear a cap. It will keep the sun off you, if nothing else!

….and yes, I’ve begun to wonder how it must feel to go….naked.

MSP

I don’t wear one for commuting or fire road bimbling, always stick one on for mountain biking. Certainly don’t feel guilty about it. I have tripped over my feet at the bottom of a flight of stairs far more than I have had accidents on the type of riding I don’t deem a helmet necessary for, and I don’t intend to start wearing a helmet every time I have to tackle a flight of stairs..

wiggles
    Free Member

I often don’t bother on the way to work etc which everyone moans at me about but I wouldn’t dream of not doing it on the mtb.

scotroutes

Teetosugars
    Free Member

Having come off and smacked my head last week, I’m pretty glad I was wearing a lid.
    Still had one hell of a headache…

monkeyfudger
    Free Member

Rarely wear one in the winter, I’d much rather wear a nice winter cap. Always wear one when riding off-road or in a group.

skiboy
    Free Member