Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 64 total)
  • The moment you realise…
  • highclimber
    Free Member

someone might be is possibly a racist.

Was chatting to nice gentleman the other day about work stuff (i’m a supply teacher and we were from the same agency). He noticed that I wasn’t from this area and tried to guess my place of origin. He was pretty close with St Helens: i’m from Blackburn. I’ve had some wild guesses from the kids I teach about where I’m from ranging from Ireland, Sweden and even Australia…anyway. As soon as I said I was from Blackburn, out of nowhere, he exclaimed

“there’s a very large population of Pakistanis there, isn’t there?”

Well, I didn’t know how to respond. he caught me off guard, I just nodded and switched off.

He then started asking me if the schools up there were quite mixed or if the cultural divide was well defined? I didn’t know how to respond to this question either so I told him I was actually from Darwen, went to school in Darwen and haven’t been living in Darwen for at least 8 years, hence my presence in North Wales.

How do you think I should have responded? Is he actually a racist or am I jumping to conclusions? I mean, who brings up the quantity of a particular nationality as an opening question about a town?

sc-xc

Not sure that’s automatically racist. If he said something like….”loads of p****s up there” it may have been different.

Perhaps he wanted a discussion about the challenge of teaching mixed cultures?

TheBrick
    Free Member

Nothing racist from you have stated there. Just sounds like an interest in the population make up. My girlfriend is a teacher in London and the different ethnic mixes in different schools across the city can be a point of conversation. Both amongst the adult and between teacher and student. The ethnic make up can effect points of school management, strong divides if the school has two very distinct ethnic groups can be important also inturms of management, integration e.t.c.