Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Tensioning chain with EBB – Help!
  • noltae
    Free Member

I can’t get the chain tension correct – with EBB as far back in BB shell as possible the chain is either too slack or if I take out two links chain is too tight – do I need to either run different gear ratios or try a half link chain ? I’m new to ebbs – I’d hoped there would be enough adjustment within ebb to tension without hassle ?

sillyoldman

You need to rotate it forward (increase chain stay length) to eliminate slack. Most EBBs will have sufficient adjustment, but they do vary in size and so capacity will vary.
    What frame is it on?

noltae
    Free Member

EBB is positioned as far back as possible in order to get correct chain length – and thus move down nearer 3 o’clock to get tension – but chain comes up too short or too long – EBB doesn’t seem to give enough back and forth adjustment ..

wwaswas

You could try using a half link but most Ebb’s have enough adjustment to get tension good enough ime.

amedias
    Free Member

what frame/EBB is it?
    what chainring/sprocket combination are you using?

I’ve never come across one that can’t get tension, it might not get it exactly where you want the BB to be but they should all have enough range to take up slack.

noltae
    Free Member

Frame is Stooge – I’d not taken into account gear ratios – I’m running 34/20 and hoped on running the EBB @ 5 o’clock – I’d hoped to be able set chain length @ 3 o’clock and then rotate ebb to a lower bb height and set tension .. I’ve never used a half link and hadn’t reckoned on needing a ‘magic gear’ to run the EBB @ 5/6 o’clock – tips appreciated !

wanmankylung
    Free Member

It must be user error.

theotherjonv

Never had an issue with tensioning my EBB Inbred, even with changing cogs.