Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Tell me about noise cancelling headphones please.
  • esselgruntfuttock
    Free Member

Are they worth the extra even though I don’t travel that much? Will my ears be able to tell the diff between some £90 Sennheiser PXC 250 ll’s & some £300 jobbies? Shall I just get some decent ‘ordinary’ ones?
    decisions decisions!

My ‘in the ear’ headphones cost about £145 and they are far superior than anything I’ve used at the £300 price point. Being a sound engineer I get to use all sorts so I’ve got a little experience with them

Etymotic research. Google them, pretty cool

flippinheckler
    Free Member

Get yourself some of these T Series you will never look back, custom made very comfortable and sound awesome, let me know where you are and I can point you to a dealer to take the ear impressions.

esselgruntfuttock
    Free Member

Thanks heckler but those are just about £550 over my budget.

ska-49
    Free Member

My dad travels alot in his job (flies at least once a week) on internal flights in the US but also internationally. He seems to know a lot about headphones and has gone through many for his travels. He’s now set on Shure. Fantastic sound quality and lots of the models offer noise cancelling. Ive used them several times and its amazing at how much of that awful droning in the cabin gets muted with the headphones. Lots of the frequents flyers rate them. You see them for sale in all the airports. I suggest trying as many models as possible but I think the noise cancelling is definitely worth it.

HoratioHufnagel
    Free Member

I borrowed some noise cancelling “on ear” headphones from first class cabin, and tried a few out in the shops and formed a brief conclusion that they all sounded worse than those Sennheiser CX 300 posted up there, which seem to do a far better job of blocking out external noise.

andyfb78
    Free Member

Another for Shure,