Viewing 35 posts - 1 through 35 (of 35 total)
  • Tell me about frame angles – how do they affect handling?
  • Spin
    Free Member

Having to go back to the hardtail due to technical issues with the softtail made me think about the difference frame angles make to handling. I’ve got only the most basic understanding of how this works.

Obviously there is much more at work than just the angles but what I notice is:

HT (steel 71/73 100mm forks) Less twitchy on climbs, more ‘flickable’ on tight singletrack, less composed on steeps, feel like I need to put weight further back on steep ground, more prone to the front wheel dropping into holes and sending me over the bars!

ST (Zesty314 67/73 140mm forks) The opposites of the above.

I had the same tyres on each.

So: What role do the angles play in all this?

Spin
    Free Member

Thanks for posting that but if it’s ‘in depth’ then it turns out I was an expert already!

HermanShake
    Free Member

The bikes are quite different angles aside! You get the steep vs slack thing right? Length of tubing, and cockpit dimensions further alter this. Then there’s fork type, length, settings etc etc.

Angles on their own aren’t enough to differentiate. You have 40mm more fork and a rear shock on the Zesty not to mention different masses and weights.

The difference you have pointed out can be created and remedied based on bar and stem combinations!

It’s all relative innit.

EDIT: there’s also fit and riding posture to add more variables to the haystack within which your needle is hidden.

Spin
    Free Member

The bikes are quite different angles aside

I mentioned that in my OP.

What I really wanted to know was what aspects of the difference in ride can be attributed wholly or in part to angles.

I fully appreciate that this is a difficult thing to tease out as there are lots of interacting factors involved.

Rickos
    Free Member