• This topic has 9 replies, 7 voices, and was last updated 7 years ago by hora.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Techron diesel service – worthwhile or rip off?
  • dmck16
    Free Member

Just booked my 15 plate Ford Fiesta (1.5 tdci) in for its second service (25k miles) as part of the service plan that was included with the purchase.

The Ford garage receptionist mentioned the addition of a Techron clean. It’s something I have zero experience/knowledge of.
    Does anyone have any experience of this? If so, is it worthwhile?

She couldn’t really explain what it involved or how it worked when I asked, so I get the impression it is just an extra money spinner for them (call me a cynic!)

Any tips on what to be wary of would be appreciated.

Thanks just now.

molgrips
    Free Member

There are a few types of engine cleaner. Stuff that goes in the fuel that cleans out the injectors etc (shouldn’t be a problem on a newer car), then other things that are meant to clean out the turbo or the EGR valve and so on.

They work, mostly, but are only worth doing if your engine’s dirty in the first place. At 25k miles in a year or 18 months, it’s probably not.

All depends on how much they want to charge.

Sui
    Free Member

Not worth it – just use fuel from a major (Shell/BP/Esso etc) and you wont need a clean out. If its had the unfortunate experience of using poor quality fuel all it’s short life, you could potentially have built up some carbon deposits, but it’s unlikely – shifting them in 1 hit can cause more issues.

dmck16
    Free Member

Cheers for the info, gave it a miss.

After picking the car up today I’m pretty well convinced that franchised dealer garages are untrustworthy – I’ll be sticking to my local independent from now on.

hot_fiat

Snake oil. Run away.