Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 42 total)
  • Tax return, Help!
  • Offroading
    Free Member

Hi.

I am filling in a tax return for the first time ever.

Bit of back ground, i am a mechanic and due to having to provide my own tools/safety gear etc i can claim the tax back on it.

There are several companies which do this for you, send them your receipts and they do it but charge you 30% of what you get back from the tax man. Rather than do that i spoke to HMRC who told me i can do a self assessment myself.

So here i am doing it today. For the tax year 2011 – 2012 i spent £2917.20 on tools. So i gather on the return i simply put that amount down as my “expenses” ?

The reason i ask a simple question is on my calculation it says i am due £583.80 back which is 20% of my £2917 etc

But if i go through the receipts 1 by 1 the tax amount comes to £484.70….

I sense i am doing something wrong ? 😳

druidh
    Free Member

Are you adding up VAT figures? The amount you claim back is unrelated to that so you’ll also get a refund on non-VATable costs.

Offroading
    Free Member

The receipts for my tools have the cost of the tool on its own and the individual vat amount for each.

So i added up the total for the tools individual cost + vat for each one to get my grand total.

glupton1976
    Free Member

AFAIK you pay tax on your profits. So take the cost of your tools etc off of your profits and pay tax on what’s left above your tax free allowance.

Offroading
    Free Member

I don’t have to worry about the profits, i am an employee.

jota180
    Free Member

But if i go through the receipts 1 by 1 the tax amount comes to £484.70….

How did you calculate the tax for that?

pdw
    Free Member

Self assessment is for income tax. It has absolutely nothing to do with VAT.

Offroading
    Free Member

the tax amount applied to each purchase is listed on its own beside each tool purchase. So i added them all up.

Offroading
    Free Member