Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • talk to me about synthesizers.
  • racefaceec90

am planning on saving up for either a bass guitar or a synth of some description (up to £5-600 at a push).

i have no real knowledge of them tbh,but wanted something that i could mess about on and maybe try and do some trance type stuff/ambient/vangelis/gary newman e.t.c to go with my guitar.

something that is easy to understand but good/versatile and have decent anologue sounds too.

what might you recommend me?

ta 🙂

i did see this on youtube and thought it looks/sounds good [video]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d6D09y8RcVc[/video]

JoeG
    Free Member

Steve Miller talks about his synthesizer @ about 2:30

[video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=auDvx3Xu4JY&feature=player_detailpage[/video]

Beep…beep…beep… 😯

redstripe
    Free Member

Get the Human League in to advise you

bainbrge

Second hand Elektron Monomachine. Very easy to use standalone, not a digital analogue synth so quite a futuristic sound palette. I recommend one because elektron’s in general can be played rather than programmed, so a good workflow if you like tactile control rather than via software sequencer.

derek_starship
    Free Member

All you need is GarageBand and iRig Keys.

£70 tops.

grum
    Free Member

Arturia Minibrute looks cool. I’ve got an Alesis Ion which is great for learning programming but only a virtual analogue synth. If you post on STW I think you have to go real analogue. 🙂

schrickvr6
    Free Member

If you want to make complete tunes you’ll need a DAW to sequence everything even if the synth you’re using has a sequencer, personally I’d say to start with VSTIs, learn the basics and make sure it is something you want to progress with. You can download a trial of Ableton Live or there are “websites”. There are some nice free virtual synths and effects you’ll need such as delay, reverb, compressors, chorus etc.