Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • talk to me (?!) about cross bikes.
  • racefaceec90

i was planning on starting to save for a guitar,but as some people have said to me (if you have read any of my gaming threads) that i need to get out more 😉 as i’m a crap guitarist,i have instead,decided to focus on getting my first road/cross bike.to be honest i have wanted a road bike for a long time (have just never got around to saving for one). i was planning on going for one of these beauties but whilst perusing the genesis web site,i came across this stunning machine 😀 i feel that this will be a lot more versatile than the equilibrium,but still fast on tarmac.would i be right in assuming that for the same amount of energy put in,i would go a lot faster on the road than if i was riding my duster mtb due to lack of drag,aerodynamics e.t.c? also if i was going off road with it how much harder would i find it than riding my duster (am thinking the ridgeway around avebury/marlbrough downs).apologies for all the stupid questions,but i just wanted to ask experienced cross riders what they are like to be honest (before starting to pay towards the bike this thursday).as always thanks 😀

flip
    Free Member

would i be right in assuming that for the same amount of energy put in,i would go a lot faster on the road than if i was riding my duster mtb due to lack of drag,aerodynamics e.t.c?

Yes.

That Croix is a lovely bike, bit heavy for competition, but lovely.

Also it has i believe 50/34 rings? a compact chainset, for off road a 36/46 is really better.

Get one.

oldgit
    Free Member

As much as I love cross bikes, I’d go for the road only option. Especialy as you have a perfectly good mtb. It’s pretty horrid hauling a hefty road bike up a long climb.

flip
    Free Member

As much as I love cross bikes, I’d go for the road only option. Especialy as you have a perfectly good mtb. It’s pretty horrid hauling a hefty road bike up a long climb.

Yes this also.

project