Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Talk to me about being self-employed…
  • brooess
    Free Member

Having bombed out of another job I’m ostensibly well-qualified for (in experience and qualifications) but which I didn’t feel the right fit for from day 1, I’m beginning to feel unemployable for most of the jobs my CV would suggest to an employer they should offer me.

Self-employment is becoming an increasingly attractive option. I’ve 15 years of marketing experience so I’m happy I could sell myself and have no problem with hard work, and I can be very determined and focussed when the challenge is right; but other than the obvious thing about what my business would do, I’ve no real experience of being self-employed other than a stint as freelance which I rather enjoyed (not least the freedom from politics and ability to just focus on getting the job done.)

So anyone got insight into the reality of self-employment? Good and bad…

NZCol

It’s great right up until you run out of work and realise that only you can solve that issue.

It’s genuinely easy – things that you can’t or don’t want to do outsource – accounting, tax and stuff to concentrate on your core business. They are distractions, while understanding them is crucial i have always got someone else to do it for me.

Plan, plan, plan and plan more. Get a funnel of work lined up. When it’s quiet get out there and get more work, when it’s busy get out there and get more work for when it becomes quiet again.

Accept that you are taking a risk and that you might not succeed. That’s not failing, failing is when you don’t even bother to try.

I’ve started up and now sold 2 businesses. I’ve done my dash but work with startups to get them going. Some will never but some do. I buy shares in those ones !!

Good luck.

Spongebob
    Free Member

A few things, but by no means everything:

Pros – lower taxes, able to claim a lot of expenses to further mitigate tax liability.