Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • talk to me about Android phones.
  • muddydwarf
    Free Member

I’ve had a Nokia Lumia 930 for a couple of yrs & really got on with it. I also bought myself a Microsoft Band 2 health tracker thingy to run with it.
    Fast forward 18 months & Microsoft have dumped support for these items, rendering them effectively dead & my Band died this week.
    So, I’m looking at the Samsung Gear Fit 2 & need an Android phone to pair with it.
    I had a HTC Wildfire that I hated, so I’ve no knowledge of current models.
    Simply put, I want something with as good a camera as the 930, a HD screen & good useability. Doesn’t have to be latest models either.

Cougar
    muddydwarf
    Free Member

Budget is flexible, but will probably be aiming at older models/2nd unless there are some amazing offers!

transporter13
    Free Member

One plus 3
    Just works

cp

In the grand scheme,the 930 is crap and many cameras on other phones far better these days.

That thread from yesterday is a useful starting point. The wildfire you had previously is low end HTC, and not at all representative of modern phones. That said, HTC do skin theirs with a custom interface which I don’t like. Samsung are similar. The basic android interface is really good and ‘just works’.

What’s your budget?

cp

If going second hand, one plus 3 or op 3t, excellent phones – typing this on one.

Very well made – solid with no creaks or flex at all. Extremely fast, battery last ages and is very fast to charge with dash charge.

muddydwarf
    Free Member

Budget? Tbh I’m not sure. The Gear Fit is £180 so the cost is going to hurt either way.
    I’ve just read that thread, I’ve no knowledge of any of those phones as it’s a good while since the HTC turned me off Android.
    I like many things about my Nokia phone but it’s a dead OS so I need to look at Android.

nickc

One plus 3
    Just works

yep. great phones

muddydwarf
    Free Member