• This topic has 32 replies, 19 voices, and was last updated 14 years ago by Taff.
Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Swinley conditions? Blimmin' 'orrible (in case you were about to ask).
  • Squirrel

Rode there this morning: 9yds, reservoir, wall, stickler, toboggan run, tank traps, seagull etc (not necessarily in that order). What a mess. I've been riding there regularly (2 – 3 times a week) for around 15 years, and don't remember it being so soggy or seeing so much mtb-related damage before (although I do accept my memory is not the best 🙁 ). Stickler and tank traps are particulary bad.

I know it's been done to death, but just thought I'd mention it. No judgements or imperious dictats.

Oh, and was that CG who passed me by the Lower Star Post? Yellow backpack cover? Difficult to recognise people under all the winter clobber 😀

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

I've been riding there regularly (2 – 3 times a week) for around 15 years

So, it's you that's ruined it then? 😉

IMO, about 3/4 of the trails in Swinley need ploughing up now.

nickc

[Nods], aye reckon you're right

thepurist

Why would you do that – it's not as if there's anywhere else to ride round here. 😉 BOB have certainly got a lot on their plate if they're going to fix the bits that are crumbling and 'improve' any new bits of trail before the summer. Shame us mere mortals can't pitch in to help.

It does seem that a lot of bikers are averse to a bit of mud and the odd corner though – alternate lines keep on springing up all over the place, then get ridden to death themselves resulting in a wider boggy mess. Some bits I remember as singletrack from a few years back are now as wide as the fire roads, and the Labyrinth seems to be losing corners at a steady rate.

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member