• This topic has 12 replies, 10 voices, and was last updated 6 years ago by jobro.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • swimming… sinus probs next day?
  • gavtheoldskater
    Free Member

don’t know if anyone has experienced this and knows of a remedy…

ive regularly swum in the winter, as in 1-3 times a week, for ages. the winter before last i started training with a local tri club in a different pool and suddenly would start getting sore/runny sinuses about an hour after swimming then solidly the next day.this then continued in my local pool.

just started back and i’d bought a new set of nose plugs (i hate wearing nose plugs but the effects on my sinuses make it necessary) that in the first few weeks i thought were really doing the job as i had no problems.

today however is a different story and i can really feel congestion and soreness, so unless i’m coming down with a cold, i dont think i am, its starting again.

my wife has suggested trying piritin but i dont get on with it, hard to explain but i feel weird on it so try to avoid taking it, and i am going to ask the pharmacist later when i go to sainsburys, but just wondered if anyone else had suffered like this and had found a solution?

brakeswithface

Same problem for me. Took me ages to work out why! For me the nose clip sorts it out though so can’t really recommend another solution…

wors

nose clips worked for me, a spray of beconase up each nostril helped when i forgot the nose peg…

StuF

Try anti-histamine tablets, some pools set me off sneezing others don’t. I’ve been told it’s something to do with the chemicals they use to keep it clean and different formula they use.

mike_p
    Free Member

Mild allergy to swimming pool chlorine (or whatever they put in the water)? Swot I have, get a totally blocked schnozzer for 2-3 days after a swim session which can only be relieved by Sudafed nasal spray, and then only temporarily.