Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Superstar Brake hoses …. anyone use them ?
  • stumpy_m4
    Free Member

I need some longer hoses on my cheaply bought shimano brakes , just wondering if anyone uses the superstar hoses and fitting kits ?
    good for the money ?

eugeo81
    Free Member

Watching this one with interest. I am waiting for mine to turn up in the post, but keeping my fingers crossed i have got a longer back hose.

smg13
    Free Member

Used their Kevlar braided hose and fitting kit and the hose cut really well and fitted the fittings no problems.Been on there now for about 3 weeks done about 15 rides with them and had no problems. I used their hose cutter as well and also bought a jagwire needle tool the one used for pushing the hose end fitting in dont know the proper name someone may know the correct term

composite
    Free Member

I have been using the 5 layer braided hose for about 8 months now, with no problems what so ever. They cut well leaving a clean edge but that was using proper hose cutters.

The hose is the same diameter as the normal black ones. I was very careful about removing the olive etc and reused the old fixings, so can’t comment on the fixing kits.

http://superstar.tibolts.co.uk/product_info.php?cPath=68&products_id=430

EDIT: I’m using them on Hope X2s.

Northwind

I put a set on some Formula Oros, the hose is indistinguishable from the OEM. The fittings were a bit clunkier and heavier though. But then they’re miles cheaper. (I ended up reusing assorted Formula fittings on the hoses to shed those essential grams 😉 )

captaindanger

Yeah they are fine but the fixings can be a bit industrial, do the job though

andyrm
    Free Member

Got them on both my big bikes and been running them on Zee brakes since September with zero issues. Just like OEM and fittings are good quality too.

Neil-F
    Free Member