Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Summer skiing ideas
  • lunge

The subject of summer holidays came up with my wife last night and we have decided we’d like to do some summer skiing. I’m a pretty experienced skier, she is a complete beginner, she likes the idea of learning when it is a bit warmer and she can do other things on the trip rather than just ski, I thought this sounded rather sensible.

Anyway, we just need to decide where to go. My first thought was Les Deux Alpe as it has a glacier which is relatively tame and having skied there in the winter I know the resort, it’s not exactly picturesque though! So, bar there, where can I go (in Europe, tempting though New Zealand/Chile is) which has a glacier for summer skiing and ideally is vaguely picturesque as well?

jambalaya
    Free Member

Tignes. I love my skiing (being going for 35 years) but have only skied once in the summer in Europe (in Tignes). Icy first thing in the morning and soft by noon when the lifts shut. I would take your bike and do a mixed holiday with some skiing and some hiking/riding. IMO if your wife is a beginner she’ll get more out of snow-dome lessons.

wanmankylung
    Free Member

Zermatt.

nickjb
    Free Member

I’m not sure that crowded slopes with conditions rapidly changing from dodgy to rubbish are ideal for learning. Better to go late in the proper season where if you get lucky you get nice snow and sunshine. Glacier skiing is fun for a novelty but not worth basing a trip around.

jambalaya
    Free Member

No idea what the summer skiing is like in Zermatt but its an stunning place to spend time in the summer so would be perfect for the multi-activity element I think you need. Great walking, enough biking, mountain railways, Matterhorn. Not the cheapest place but you don’t have to eat/drink in the most expensive places. You could spend a day or two down by Lake Geneva too.

legend
    Free Member