Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • STW property developers
  • stonemonkey
    Free Member

I am thinking of getting into the property development world, I have seen a property up for auction the guide price is £75,000+ but i am expecting it to go for around £85-90 and I think when done up ( new kitchen/ bathroom/ wiring / central heating and boiler and internal decoration i have estimated around £10k its a 3 bed terrace) it should fetch £115-125. I suppose my question is are there any key rules i should abide by, any tips you wish you had known when you started etc, other advice and (dis) encouragement.

In terms of myself it will be my first renovation, I am a recentlyualified building surveyor so know a reasonable amount about construction and property problems and I have some carpentry and DIY experienceI would be looking to do as much work as possible, such as fit the kitchen, bathroom and all the internal decoration and do the donkey work for the trades such as remove the floorboards, build stud walls etc.

Any advice appreciated

Mike

Smee
    Free Member

Take fees etc into account and there isn't much profit left in that lot.

allthepies
    Free Member

£10K for new "kitchen/ bathroom/ wiring / central heating and boiler and internal decoration"

You doing all that yourself then I take it 🙂

Sounds way under to me but I'm not an expert by any means.

breatheeasy
    Free Member

Agree with 'pies. £10K for all that does sound a little optimistic. Add in a couple of months mortgage (I assume you need to fund it), solicitors, HIP, estate agents etc. and I'd be looking at more of a selling price to make it really worthwhile.

aldomac
    Free Member

and won't you make more money just working as a QS? Those property TV shows always forget to mention that, 6 months hard graft for 10k, and that's if it all goes well. mmm.

mst
    Free Member