Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • STW presentation gurus… Obscure geeky help needed.
  • colournoise

As a teacher I use quite a few presentations. For the past few years I’ve used Google Slides because of the easy to use cloud storage and simplicity.

Just started a new school and, thanks to a draconian ICT policy, Google Slides is a no go. As I use Android and Linux at home I don’t really want to resort to PowerPoint and an encrypted USB drive (which seems to be the default position for other staff).

Have just found Microsoft Sway, which unusually for big M stuff I really like, but it currently doesn’t have great organisational features for your files, nor the ability to export/save your presentations locally.

So, there any other cool presentation tools out there that I don’t know about? My needs…

Browser-based (or at the very least, able to run from a USB).
    Ideally with a decent cloud storage/account facility.
    Simple and quick to use (drag n drop, but don’t need masses of features like transitions and animations).

Aware of Prezi and used it in its early days, but was fiddly to use and now subscription only.

Would love to use Evernote’s presentation mode, but can’t install the standalone app and the web client doesn’t yet have that feature…

Any ideas?

RobHilton
    Free Member

Waste of a post…

colournoise

How so? No other options besides those I already know about? Or just suck it up and really on the perils of USB storage (whose encryption won’t play with my Linux stuff at home)?

nemesis
    Free Member

Office 365. You can use PowerPoint online that way and save to MS onedrive. All in your browser

https://office.live.com/start/PowerPoint.aspx

geoffj

Are you sure that other web based options won’t fall foul of the ICT policy?
    If google slides is out, I suspect any other non-secure web SAS type services will be too.

colournoise