Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 94 total)
  • STW fashion tips needed – wearing a suit at work.
  • mieszko
    Free Member

Let’s start with some good news, I got a job at PwC as a Consultant in the audit department starting 1st of September. It will involve wearing a suit on a regular basis. I bought a suit for my graduation and interviews recently. M and S Sartorial, 100% wool, single breasted etc etc (best I could afford as a student). I’m planning to buy another suit soon but I need some tips on how to wear it, what goes with what etc. I have never worked in a corporate environment before or had to wear a suit to work.

1. Do you walk with the jacket unbuttoned or do I only unbutton the jacket when seated? (I will be wearing a tie if that makes a difference) I read somewhere that only the top button should be buttoned when standing/walking is that correct?

2. I will need a bag of some sort. I have an Osprey messenger bag (black and gray) at the moment which I really like, I wanted to buy the Flapjack model as a treat but my brother told me I’ll look like a tool having such a bag and wearing a suit. Do I need to buy one of those leather more fashionable bags or something else to carry paperwork around?

3. Can I wear a baselayer t-shirt or tank top under the shirt or is it a no no? The suit is pretty warm so I thought that a wicking top
    would help a bit.

4. If I buy a lighter coloured suit (grey -ish or similar) can I still wear it in autumn/winter or is it another no no?

I’m currently wearing the safe option so: white shirt, black tie, black belt and black shoes.

That is all my questions at the moment. Any more tips welcome.

RealMan
    Free Member

Suitcase?

Riofer
    Free Member

I expect PwC will give you a laptop and a bag to carry it in so no need to worry about buying one

theotherjonv

I always wear a suit to work. Decent M&S is good for everyday, Austin Reed a bit better, and I have a handmade one for special.