Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • STW Detective Agency
  • eth3er
    Free Member

I'm a one man band electrician and did a rewire on behalf of a builder who has run off owing me £1000 of an agreed £1650. The contract was verbal. I am small and this has basically put me against the ropes. It's now four weeks after I finished the job.I am on good terms with the lady whose house I rewired.

I'm trying to take him to small claims court but I don't have his address. I have his van registration though and I'm assuming it has to be registered to his house. Does anybody know how I could go about getting his address so I can close this nightmare?

MrNutt
    Free Member

DVLA?

earbyphil
    Free Member

Eth3er
    Tell us your location, or location of suspected van man and we will keep an eye open.

iDave
    Free Member

if you get his address, there are quicker ways to get your money than going through the small claims court

cranberry
    Free Member

Do you not have a mobile phone number – get a mate to call him for a quote for some building and be there when he comes round.

nbt

I'm trying to take him to small claims court but I don't have his address. I have his van registration though and I'm assuming it has to be registered to his house. Does anybody know how I could go about getting his address so I can close this nightmare?

As suggested above you can get it from the DVLA, you will have to pay a fee and explain why you want it though

Onzadog
    Free Member

Do you know if he's a sole trader or a limited company?

Xylene
    Free Member

post phone number, google number does it appear anywhere else.

check his name on facebook etc – presume you know it and the area you/he lives in.

use phone book and subscribe to 192.com to get electoral roll

eth3er
    Free Member

Thank you very much, will be on the phone to the DVLA in the morning.

gottapickapenny
    Free Member

Whatever you do.