Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Stupid Racing Ralphs – a decent but puncture proof tyre?
  • marko75
    Free Member

For the past three years – come rain or shine I have ran with Nics front and back around Woburn. After seeing a number of different tyre threads (not tires!) and mumbling to myself that tyres didnt make that much difference I borrowed a Ralph (probably one of the cheaper ones) off my friend, put it on the back and gave it a whizz around a 20 minute loop. Well ***** me with a barge pole – almost 2 minutes faster! On the downside had developed a puncture on the Ralph after playing about afterwards and never had one with the nics.

Is there a more puncture resistant ralph or something equivalent?

5thElefant
    Free Member

I’ve been running ralphs for 2 years, with latex tubes. I’ve had one flat, and that wasn’t a puncture as such, the tube literally wore out.

martinhutch

You can get a snakeskin version with tougher sidewalls (slight weight penalty). Running them tubeless would obviously help with smaller punctures.

yorkshire89
    Free Member

Does it really make that much difference over the nobby nics?

Reluctant
    Free Member

Rapid Robs. Same tread pattern as Ralph, but Kevlar type punc protection in built.

marko75
    Free Member

I was surprised at that as well. Time mostly lost on the climbs all according to Strava that is – so will have to test again.

njee20
    Free Member

Rapid Robs. Same tread pattern as Ralph, but Kevlar type punc protection in built.

Heavier carcass and cheaper compound too, Snakeskin Ralph is a better bet IMO.

Kryton57

yorkshire89 – Member

Oh yes. web pictures don’t quite do the knob size / lower profile justice – they are a very fast summer tyre and unlike SB8’s have a higher profile/better shaped shoulder knob you can really lean on – so you get dry cornering grib and decent rolling in one tyre.

+1 for snakeskin ralphs btw…..

marko75
    Free Member