Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Stupid ISA question
  • bigjim

Is there any point in topping up my 2013-2014 ISA? I don’t think there is and I should just put the money in a 2014-2015 ISA whilst I can, but I’m not very good at this stuff…

twicewithchips
    Free Member

depends how much you are thinking of saving. The key advantage being that you have time to max out this years allowance (should you wish), before starting on next.
    In other words if you plan to save more than next year’s allowance, get some of it in now.

suburbanreuben
    Free Member

Is there any point in topping up my 2013-2014 ISA?

A bit late isn’t it? You should have done it last year.

bigjim

The allowance increased in July 2014 so I can put more in, what I dont know is if there is any point, and I should just put it into a 2014-2015 ISA in the next couple of weeks whilst I can.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

If there is a chance that you will have enough to fill the new one put it in the old one. If you won’t have the cash for the new ones limit don’t worry about it.

ElShalimo

It’s always worth putting some money in because if you don’t contribute to it for a full tax year, further contributions to the ISA can be blocked which means a minor admin problem to unblock it.
    I found this out last week

welshfarmer

You cannot add anything to your 2013/14 account, regardless of whether you used your allocation at the time or not. Once the 2014/15 year started last April you were limited to the amount for that year. If you still have allowance for 14/15 (and as you say it did rise mid term) then whack it in now before the end of the month and you can then still decide if you have enough cash to fill your quota for 15/16. Unfortunately with ISAs it is a case of use it or lose it each year.

bigjim

You cannot add anything to your 2013/14 account, regardless of whether you used your allocation at the time or not