• This topic has 5 replies, 4 voices, and was last updated 9 years ago by maxb.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Strava route query
  • maxb
    Free Member

I’m new to Strava and awaiting my GPS but I’m signed up and I manually created a complete circular route I ride. Looking at the route on Strava it lists all the segments that others have logged but will my route become available to others to ride and log times?

If I ride it with the GPS and then sync this to Strava will it tie it in with the route or just log it as a load of segments?

Lastly I manually entered my time for the route in my activity but how can I link this to the actual route itself that I created?

Thanks chaps.

dunmail
    Free Member

By default all routes you upload to Strava are public you can reduce this in several ways from global options down to individual rides.

For others to log times against your ride you have to use it to create a segment otherwise it’s just a ride that happens to link a set of other segments. I.e. you have to explicitly create a segment either from part or all of your ride.

When you upload a ride from your GPS to Strava, all the times are worked out and displayed. So you’ll see the ride as whatever name you give it plus there’ll be text like “Maxb rode this at 8:50am” and beneath it a list of your times over any segments that you happened to ride.

Unless you are really quick and get in the top ten you don’t get any cups the first time you ride a segment but the second time you will either get a PB or a 2nd best time.

martinhutch

Looking at the route on Strava it lists all the segments that others have logged but will my route become available to others to ride and log times?

Your ride will be logged as an individual ride (ie the full route), plus you’ll see your time on any segments you’ve gone through on the way.