Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 42 total)
  • Steel Hardtails?
  • KingofBiscuits
    Free Member

I’ve been riding FS bikes now for the past 4 years. I’m currently riding an Orange 5 and have been doing so for the last 2. I love it to bits and can’t fault its ride, versatility and performance.

Even still, I have a strange desire to try out a HT again. In particular a steel one. I think my initial thought was for winter but I can imagine the new breed of HTs with their geometry and 120-140mm forks would also suit a lot of the riding I do. There is also an element of even simpler maintenance.

Just wondered if anyone else had switched back from FS to HT, in particular steel and what they thought/reasons?

I know of the Orange P7, Cotic Soul and Genesis Altitude but are there anymore I should consider?

Pics for inspiration would be nice too.

Thanks

Swiftacular
    Free Member

So far for me…BFe Very good, Dialled PA not so. Neither could/can touch my Pace 303.

freeridenick
    Free Member

Cant go wrong with a Dialled Bikes Prince Albert.

clubber
    Free Member

I’ve done it in the past when I broke my full susser and couldn’t afford a replacement. I found it fine which is hardly surprising since it’s just a hardtail and it’s not like you need full sus for 99.9% of trails that people actually ride (as opposed to 50ft drops that you see in the mags…).

Forget the thing about steel – that’s a secondard thing. Choose a good frame and let whether it’s steel or alumninium be only a consideration – the ride is not automatically different just because of the frame material – that’s down to specific frame design so some alumninium frames will ride more like stereotypical steel than many steel frames. And visa versa. Particularly when you’re talking about long travel steel frames.

Wozza
    Free Member

I’m going from an Epic to a Blizzard.