Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 71 total)
  • State Schools letting down brightest pupils
  • cynic-al
    Free Member

http://www.google.com/hostednews/ukpress/article/ALeqM5j7S0gcfy9sjmUG5w4uLCbsKEJs6Q?docId=N0014751341495718677A

Basically English schools are behind other country’s in terms of producing the producing the best maths students…and state Schools behind Independents and Grammars.

I did well at a grammar, and I’m no expert but it seems to me the brightest will benefit from selection/screening. Given this report, can the arguments against it retain credibility?

Drillski
    Free Member

no, they can’t. Unless you want to “reduce the gap between the best and worst performing” by dragging down the best/more able.

gonefishin
    Free Member

Probably not, but bear in mind that you don’t need selective schools to have screening by ability. This was done in my state school back in the 80s in an attempt to staisfy the demands not only of the more able pupils but to also give some help to the less able.

anagallis_arvensis

so if you selected the brightest and then later compare them to everyone the brightest are brighter and private education is better than state education… Hardly shocking news is it?

As a teacher I really cannot see how a Grammar school system is beneficial.

vinnyeh

The study also suggests that comparing the maths results of 18-year-olds would be even more stark because 90% of English pupils drop the subject after GCSE. In many other countries, maths is compulsory up to the age of 18.

Is this correct? If so, then it’s what I find most disturbing in the report.

I did well at a grammar, and I’m no expert but it seems to me the brightest will benefit from selection/screening. Given this report, can the arguments against it retain credibility?

Unfortunately, we aren’t told the nature of other countries’ schooling systems, so can’t draw much of a conclusion as to what is best suited to our society’s requirements.

ridethelakes