Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Starting out on the dark side (roadie content)
  • danielgroves
    Free Member

So, I’ve decided that 2013 should be the year in which I get a road bike. I’m not talking now, but in 3/4 months down the line. My reasoning for getting a road bike is partly for something to do in the long summer I get as a student (my last one coming up :O) which will let me stay fit and partly due to my long term want to do John O Groats to Lands End ride, which I’m hardly going to want to do on my Meta 5.

I’m new to the road world. What should I look for in a road bike? Any brands/specifics that should be avoided. I’ll probably have about £500 to spend on the second hand market, for something in reasonable condition.

Also, what size would people recommend me to go and look at? I’m about 6’3″.

Advice would be appreciated.

rOcKeTdOg

6ft3 i’d say 58cm + depending on how long you like your top tube unless it’s a compact geom frame

danielgroves
    Free Member

Like I said, I’m pretty new to this, what’s a compact frame?

cynic-al
    Free Member

60-62cm.

Last summer of uni? Go travelling!

danielgroves
    Free Member

Last summer of uni? Go travelling!

I’m not really going to be able to afford it this summer, but I am planning on doing something a bit different after graduation, not too sure what yet though.

cynic-al
    Free Member

working trip abroad?

danielgroves
    Free Member

Hmmm, maybe. Either way I want to get a road bike sorted this year so that I can get fit enough and some dates sorted for the trip I mentioned in my first post.

lunge

Size wise look at a frame about 60cm. Bike wise, new I would look at Decathlon, the £500 bike from there (cant remember the model, it’ll be a B-Twin) is brilliant. Second hand, I would look for a good alu frame, Cannondale is the first brand that springs to mind, and as much Shimano 105 or Ultegra on it as you can find.

1981miked
    Free Member