Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Standing MTB pedalling versus seated
  • j2b2
    Free Member

Hi –
    I only started riding about a year ago and have been out on my MTB at least once every week since, slowly building fitness. However I only noticed and started thinking about how little time I spend standing pedaling since winter and I took a few spinning sessions in my gym.
    Even though I can now stand and pedal in the spinning class for the full 45min session – admittedly with a lot of sweat and effort – when I am out on the trails I just find it much, much more exhausting.
    I suppose terrain often dictates riding position, plus when I am spinning it is more about endurance and keeping going for three quarters of an hour, and when I am on a trail my ride is more like a series of five minute sprint segments, but outdoors I do catch myself pedalling “flat out” high cadence in a seated position whenever I can and in general standing pedalling for short bursts of acceleration, or only the most demanding climbs or bumpy sections/descents. It actually feels so much more tiring 🙁
    How much more standing pedalling do more experienced riders recommend and is it something worth working towards!?
    Thanks!

TheBrick
    Free Member

I think you have answered your own question! Rough terrain, stand up short bursts stand up. Move weight around depending on traction, maybe seated maybe unseated.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

There is an interview with Jo Barnes in the mag where he is trying as much as possible to avoid standing pedalling in enduro as it’s knackering and not as efficient I recall. Personally I find I’m seated a lot more with a good dropper post and save the stood up for sprinting/tech stuff.
    Have a look at the world cup xc on red bull TV, I think there was a lot of seated stuff.