Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • SRAM x01 chain wear at 0.5, time to replace?
  • bright
    Free Member

Hi, often read but rarely post.
    I’m new to x01 and am now 560km in, in that time I’ve only dropped the chain once and have not experienced a ghost shift; its great kit. My chain gauge now slots in on the 0.5 side. Is it time for a new chain or can I safely wait for 0.75 wear? Obviously I’m trying to prolong the life of the cassette due to the cost of replacement! Is the x11 chain from SRAM the best bet?

Thanks

rone

I change them before 1000 miles; mine hasn’t made the .75 stretch at that point. I use rock n’ roll only and my xx1 chain ring lasted 2800 miles.

Nothing I’ve ever had before has lasted this long.

I would say somewhere between the two wear points which would be about 750 miles, providing everything has been cleaned and lubed.

I did have an issue with a fused on cassette and xx1 crank which took some sorting despite being greased properly. Not related to each other, separate events.

bright
    Free Member

I will probably order another and keep an eye on it for now. Would like a bit more distance from a £30 chain.

nickdavies

I change at .75 on my superstar tool, normally change at 1 on other kit but XT cassettes are £40….
    Probably in the region of 500 miles? Just changed to my 3rd chain, and new chain still shifts smoothly.
    Not sure how much variance there is between tools – i.e. if my 0.75 is your 0.5.

njee20
    Free Member

I also changed my XX1 at 0.75, which was 1000 miles. New one is a bit noisy under power in some gears, but otherwise fine.

deadkenny
    Free Member

You can change the chain when Park Tools tell you to and buy 3 chains for a the life of a cassette.

Or… leave the chain going, and buy 1 chain for the life of the cassette.