Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • spare wheels
  • garethkendall
    Free Member

Hello, I am fairly new to mountain biking and have realised the benefits of having intermediate tyres on when riding on the roads, the only problem is when I want to go off road it means changing the tyres over. If I was to buy spare wheels how do I know they will fit my bike? I have a cube acid and the wheels are marked up as “alexrims Disc Rx24 // 6061H – T6 // Double wall 559 x 19”
    Any help would be appreciated.

Junkyard
    Free Member

Assuming you have 26 ” wheels – will say in the tyre] you need a set of 26″ wheels with disc hubs.

The front hubs can be QR -the skewer which you have I assume, 15 or 20 mm. More expensive hubs [ Hope Pro 2 for example ] will have adapters for all size

rear hub will be 135 mm [ DH are bigger iirc] standard QR
    Most MTB disc wheel for 26″ wheels will suffice for your needs
    How much do you want to spend?

Dobbo

I’m going to start doing this on my cross/road bike as I’ve got new wheels coming, the only PITA will be I’ll swap the cassette over when I swap wheels I as don’t have a spare one and they tend to wear together so you may get a slipping chain if they don’t match.

kayak23

I do this with my bike. You’ll also need discs on the spare wheelset to save the faff of swapping. Its worth doing if you can afford it.

Onzadog
    Free Member

I used to run two bikes with two sets of wheels each. Keep on top of chain wear and the cassette will be fine. To be honest, they really didn’t see enough use to justify their existence. Spare tyres and a decent track pump worked better for me.

However, that will then evolve into a spare bike. It’s the only real answer.

garethkendall
    Free Member

Thanks everyone it may just be as cheap and easy to buy a cheap second hand bike for riding on the road.

Taff
    Free Member