• This topic has 20 replies, 14 voices, and was last updated 7 years ago by llama.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • South Downs Way advice
  • uphilla
    Free Member

I am sure that many on here have done this, interested in any tips advice, places to stay or visit on the way?

Which way round?

Transport back to start (I am only planning one way at the moment!).

How many days to allow? 3 days seems reasonable, think my fitness is ok for 30+ miles in a day, though happy to stretch it out as I have never done anything this long and steep before.

Thanks 🙂

wwaswas

West to East to avoid the prevailing headwind.

Brighton (wither YHA at Truleigh Hill or drop into town) as a second day overnight stop?

tbh there’s not much on the SDW itself but if you drop off at Amberley there’s the chalk pits museum which is great if you like that sort of thing (and Brighton has lots of stuff obvs – there’s secure bike parkign at the station if you want to go for a wander).

train back from Eastbourne but Southern are crap at the moment so allow time for cancelled departures when you change at Brighton.

offthebrakes
    Free Member

there’s secure bike parking at the station if you want to go for a wander

Is there? I wouldn’t be that keen to leave a nice bike at the station to be honest.

wwaswas

http://www.nplusone.bike/cycles#storage

Store your bike securely, inside, for FREE in the purpose built cycle storage facility.

There’s space for 500 bikes on purpose built racks. The storage area is lit, regularly patrolled by security staff and covered by CCTV. To access the area you need a Key card, which you can get for FREE from Southern Railway.

The storage area is accessible 24 hours a day 7 days a week, so you can get in even when the shop is closed.

If you need somewhere to change and freshen up then there are also showers and changing rooms available upstairs.

offthebrakes
    Free Member