Viewing 32 posts - 1 through 32 (of 32 total)
  • Sorry – Car allowance – good rate?
  • leftyboy
    Free Member

I’m looking at a job with a car allowance of £5,600 per annum. I’m new to car allowances as it’s over 20 years since I had a company car.

So is this ~£466 per month a decent rate and what will it cost me in tax as a higher rate earner? Or is it emissions based now?

Thanks for any info.

If I get the job I’ll head back for advice on which car to buy and probably end up with an Octavia! 🙂

Markie
    Free Member

Are they paying you the allowance in your salary, or giving you a company lease car to this value, and if it is a lease car is the allowance inclusive or exclusive of maintenance?

If it’s an allowance in salary, you’ll be taxed at your basic rate, 40 or 45.

I know nothing of any of this, but Mrs Markie does and has dictated this answer!

As to whether it’s decent, we don’t have enough information to assess, apparently. What mileage does it cover?

beej

My £600 per month is taxed as if it was extra salary.

wallop

Taxed at your prevailing rate and seems a fairly average level.

db

if you are getting allowance would you not just get taxed on that?

Money wise its ok. If I opted for cash over a car I think I would get about £550 before tax. (middle manager in big global company)

edit – far too slow

leftyboy
    Free Member

Would be paid with salary so info above helps. Seems likely to be only OKish, mileage would be around 50 miles daily as travel aspect of job is non-UK.

captain-slow
    Free Member

As others have said you will be taxed at your marginal rate. Other things to consider are whether you actually need a new car or whether you can just bank the cash – I have seen several people actually end up worse off having taken a job with a car allowance.