Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Sore ankle from SPDs… what should i adjust or change??
  • cloudnine
    Free Member

Im pretty new to spds and have done quite a bit of riding in the last few weeks. Ive noticed my right ankle is a bit stiff/sore just below the fibula. Bike is a Kinesis Pro6.
    I have been using some cheap shimano MT23 shoes and shimano spds.
    The cleats are on the forward of the two hole positions more to avoid toe overlap than anything else.

Any ideas on what i should adjust first?
    Cleat position?
    Seat height?
    Stem length?
    Seat post has a slight set back on it as it was what i had lying around the shed.

irc

If you have done much more riding than usual the soreness might be overuse rather than SPD related.

I’d get the riding position right before thinking about cleat position. Toe overlap is not a factor I would take into account for cleat position.

Jamie
    Free Member

If you have done much more riding than usual the soreness might be overuse rather than SPD related.

Probably this. When you apply being new to anything, and then doing a lot of it, it’s usually an adaption/overuse issue.

In the same position as yourself, as recently started using SPDs on a CX, and after doing a lot of reading I went with the foot further over the pedal…so the pedal spindle is slightly behind the ball of the foot, and just keep an eye on my feet when making a sharp turn 😉

How you getting on with the Pro6? I went with a steel framed Croix De Fer, but now contemplating swapping the frame out for the lighter Pro6, as I forgot just how many styles/fences I have to lift my bike over.

ali69er
    Free Member

I have found that the foot position made a big difference after getting major pain in the big toe on the right foot, but it didn’t go away, have since slackened off one of the straps which has largely solved it. So consider how tight the shoe is and where the pain is.

spooky_b329