Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 70 total)
  • "Someone Will Invent A Tubeless Valve That Isn’t Stupid"
  • mlbaker
    Free Member

The quote above is one of Wil’s, tech editor future predictions/hopes.

I am interested in this because I’m a product designer and like designing little things.

I know presta valves are delicate but have no experience with tubeless so are the valves that bad?

A quick Google shows many options in the bike valve world, what are good ones and what could be improved further?

Cheers!

oldnpastit

The valve core tends to pick up latex, and then eventually instead of moving up and down, just sticks, at which point either you can’t get air in, or you can’t stop it getting out.

The other really annoying thing is when the valve core unscrews with the pump, if you’ve got one of those screw-on pump heads (I have).

But you can fix that by just tightening it down, unless you don’t have a multitool, in which case you can just flag down a passing cyclist until you find someone who does.

ChunkyMTB
    Free Member

I haven’t met a stupid tubeless valve yet. They just work. (17yrs of use)

simondbarnes

The valve core tends to pick up latex, and then eventually instead of moving up and down, just sticks, at which point either you can’t get air in, or you can’t stop it getting out.

Milkit have that solved with their valves.

But you can fix that by just tightening it down, unless you don’t have a multitool, in which case you can just flag down a passing cyclist until you find someone who does.

Milkit valves come with a valve core tool that resides on the valve stem so that you never forget it.

(I quite like milkit valves)

Rubber_Buccaneer

I think Schrader would work better but my rims are drilled for presta and presta works OK so meh

eddiebaby
    Free Member

Mine seem ok, I do wash em a bit though.

Onzadog
    Free Member

Quick wipe of Vaseline when installing stops them getting bunged up.

BadlyWiredDog