Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Somebody give me some hope (F***ing ISIS content)
  • Telemaster18
    Free Member

2nd bottom bracket in about 6 rides. Crank bros cobalt one on its second ride. Creaking! Is it shot? Bolts came loose as well. Any tips advice? Could it be the cranks? Middleburns.

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

SKF BB? I have no experience of them but they have a needle roller on the driveside instead of a ball bearing so should last much better

Fraz
    Free Member

Isis is gash.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    oxym0r0n

My Crank bros has never stopped properly creakin, unless I get it really muddy, but did seem to need a settling in period. Worth getting someone to crank the bolts up to the recommended torque perhaps?

On the plus side it hasn’t worn out in over a year…

roblerner
    Free Member

Isis is gash.

+1

But not helpful, sorry.

ronjeremy
    Free Member
    Telemaster18
    Free Member

Well new cranks are gonna cost me £150 with a new BB (I know sq. tapers are cheap). Don’t really want to do that. Gonna have it all out and clean it all and re grease, see what that does. May try the torque idea. I’m worried that there’s something wrong with my cranks. Is that possible? What could it be?

Phil_H

The Superstar bb I had was doing ok, Then my cranks snapped.

s8tannorm
    Free Member

I shagged two crank brothers isis bb in a few months … bought a super star isis bb and its still going strong after about 8 months. Being an instructor / guide means they do get some hammer.

Telemaster18
    Free Member

Can it really be the BB after two rides? Then shot? Especially after 2 rides! Not long rides either

epicyclo

Maybe your BB needs faced before putting in a new BB.

TandemJeremy
    Free Member