• This topic has 27 replies, 21 voices, and was last updated 7 years ago by DezB.
Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Snowboarding jackets cheap vs £££
  • v666ern
    Free Member

So my old boarding jacket has seen better days (8year old trespass nothing amazing) but coming to replace it is it worth spending lots ~£150 on a replacement for 1 week a year?
    Or would I be better off with another £40 job?

wobbliscott
    Free Member

I’ve been skiing for 20 years now and started off with expensive jackets no less than £250, top brands, top materials all the latest marketing schpeel. In recent and more frugal years i’ve been forced to go to cheap – £60 to 100. I really really can’t tell the difference in performance. OK i’m not trekking to the South Pole in -40 degree temps, but i’ve seen -30 wind chill on more than one occasion and survived perfectly well to tell the tale. More expensive jackets might last a few years longer, but in this day and age of fashions changing so often who wants a jacket you have to get 10 years out of to justify it’s initial expense? So just get a cheaper jacket and have a bit more beer money to fill the pockets.

chrisdw
    Free Member

eBay!
    I got a nice Bonfire one on there for £25. As new.

scuttler

Get yerself down to the TKMaxx on the precinct – you might find something nice.

spw3

TKMaxx FTW.

What v666 said.

stevemuzzy
    Free Member

The trespass tp75 stuff is really good quality and usually discounted well. I am abit of a snob about my tech clothing as well and like the trespass stuff.

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

I have a fairly expensive ski jacket, but it also serves as a winter coat as well. So, the cost is spread overy more than the occasional week here and there.

wideboy
    Free Member

For week a year, perhaps not.

But if you can spare the cash a ‘proper’ (think GTX) jacket can save a holiday.