Viewing 36 posts - 1 through 36 (of 36 total)
  • Slightly disillusioned ……..
  • UK-FLATLANDER

Why so much in fighting? Don’t all of us on this forum love MTBing? I’ve previously been involved in climbing and most folk just seem to accept and respect each other, regardless of ability or preferred niche. I have been MTBing for nearly 20 years – I love riding local loops in East Anglia, trail centres in Wales or Scotland, natural trails in the Lakes or the Alps. I also like building and fettling my bikes or those of my friends. So why is it that it seems that every day on this forum certain folk seem to to have to snipe at anyone that who’s older and rides a “nice” bike but isn’t good enough skill wise in their eyes? I can’t turn time back, I choose to spend my spare money on bikes rather than a new car, booze or cigs and it’s the thought of the long recovery times from injuries that make me more cautious when I ride. Personally I don’t care what my companions ride, or how they ride it – to me the most important thing is that they, like me are enjoying riding their bikes with good company. Surely we’d be in a much better position as MTBers if we all pulled together regardless of whether we like DH, XC, trail riding or just pottering about. If we pulled in the same direction we’d have more chance of fair representation when it came to things like funding or access argument.

End of rant.

kimbers

do you live here flatlander?

mrmo
    Free Member

but if all MTBers actually realise they are cyclists and that riding bikes for any reason is good it would be time for the second coming.

Easier to pick on the weirdos in baggies/lycra than try and gain better access rights etc.

craig1975
    Free Member

mostly because there is a lot of these types that frequent this forum

crikey
    Free Member

You don’t have to come here.

Conan257
    Free Member

Life without banter isn’t really worth living…