Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Sky Q
  • angeldust
    Free Member

Anyone got Sky Q yet? What do you think? Main concern for me is the reliability of the broadcast signal on the units that are not wired (and rely on the WiFi network).

dyls

Also if its a signal over the interned what is the picture and speed quality of football matches. When I stream BT Sport from an app to the TV the picture looks laggy.

angeldust
    Free Member

dyls, I’m no expert but I don’t think it works quite like that. Taken from What HiFi review:

It’s a Sonos-style mesh network, meaning the speed of your broadband doesn’t matter, the wi-fi network itself determines how well the system streams content around your home. If you have Sky Broadband, each box works as a wi-fi hotspot.

I would still like to hear some real-world experiences before I become a (relatively) early adopter. Bit of google research brings up quite a lot of criticism from early users. Not that unusual from Sky products (they tend to do a good job of correcting faults…..eventually).

Gary_M
    Free Member

No, and I don’t think Sky have been very clear in describing what sky q actually does. The advertising is all done in soundbites with no clear explanation.

DezB
    Free Member

The clearest bit is “Extra £12 a month” – and for that reason…

angeldust
    Free Member

The extra charge isn’t an issue. Some people were willing to pay more for HD, some people will also be willing to pay more for 4K HD. In time they will phase out the old technology and make this standard, no doubt.

Have you viewed anything in SD lately (on anything other than a tiny screen)? I find it almost unwatchable, while my gf can hardly tell the difference. So I’m aware that not everyone can appreciate the difference…..but I can.