Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Skills – next steps advice
  • skydragon
    Free Member

1st post, so be gentle with me 😉

I started riding a MTB about 6 months ago as a way of getting fit for competing in Motorsport and gradually have become hooked on trying to get better.

I’m lucky to live in a part of west yorks with some fairly decent routes and go out riding a few times a week. I’ve got to the point where I can ride a ‘red’ route at a mediocre speed as long as the obstacles can be rolled over.

What now holds me back is where there is a ledge/rock that can’t be rolled (most can on my routes) and the fact I have to slow right down to roll over them etc. My climbing is ok, it needs improving, but that’s not my weakest area.

I’d love to be able to ride fast along a trail, pumping/hopping over drops/rocks and doing small jumps.

Question – what skills should I now focus on developing and how should I best learn?

I’ve tried riding off small drops (14″ or so) and this has been ok as long as the approach and landing are fairly smooth. When I’ve tried more, inc small jumps, it’s always ended up with a painful crash and a week or 2 of skin healing 😉 I don’t bounce well at my age…

I’m trying to learn to wheelie, but my progress is laughable…

Background – I’m in my late 40’s (old fart) but fairly fit and have a decent (too good for me) full suds mtb

trailofdestruction
    Free Member

Two things.

#1. Welcome. Mountain biking is the best fun you can have with your clothes on. Providing you don’t put yourself in A&E, which moves us onto…