Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 54 total)
  • Simple explanation of the difference between Civil and Common Law?
  • brooess
    Free Member

Anyone got a source showing a simple definition? Wikipedia all looks a bit long-winded. Something to do with Common (English) Law being set by precedent rather than written down and Civil (Continental) being set in stone. And I’m sure I heard someone describe it once as Common Law means the individual is assumed to have human rights/right to freedom of speech etc already but in Civil Law, the individual is only given these rights by the law… which probably also gives rise to a tendency to views of the role of the state depending which legal system you live in, but that’s a whole other story!

Ta

IanMunro
    Free Member

I thought that ‘common law’ was just a complete misconception passed from one generation to the next and has no basis in real law.
    But I’m not a lawyer, so i’m probably completely wrong. Though because I’m not a lawyer my advice is much more reasonably priced 🙂

Stoner
    Free Member

there’s different definition depending on context.

Common law is law that is formed through judicial precedent.
    Statute law is written by Parliament/Lords and will often codify common law as well as add new law to the legal body.

Civil law in the UK usually refers to that part of law that comes nto play between individuals, whereas the alternative: Criminal Law, is more concerned with the interaction of the individual and society.
    Civil law can also means n some instances simply the law of the state.

All IANAL.

midlifecrashes

Common Law is set through precedents being set in court decisions. Civil law is set through Acts of Parliament and Administrative Orders etc.

cynic-al
    Free Member

In this context Civil Law = systems based on Roman Law (most of Europe except UK I think) & Commonlaw = systems where law originally based on Court decisions and not Roman Law (UK, US & Commonwealth I think).