Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Shyness and riding in groups!
  • phil40
    Free Member

Hi,

Despite being a teacher I am almost painfully shy in social situations outside of work! I am okay when with my children as they become my focus in big groups, but solo I find myself making any excuse to shy away from group activities!

Does anyone have any strategies for coping? I want to get out and do group rides, but as soon as the chance arises I find myself making excuses to not go! I live Bordon way, so I know that there are groups around….I just don’t have the stones to actually get out!

timbur
    Free Member

Got any mates that ride bikes that can go with you to start with?

pickle
    Free Member

Phil, look for a local club. I recently joined one where i moved to and everyone is really welcoming and within a few rides you’ll get to know lots more people to ride with.

nwmlarge
    Free Member

chat someone up on private chat first then you will have some familiarity.

TheBrick
    Free Member

I’m abit like this when I know no one. Only thing I do is force my self. I like riding with people I know but hate new introductions outside of work. Smaller the group the easier.

soobalias
    Free Member

military down that way, they move around lots, make friends lots, might reduce the ‘outsider’ feeling.

you are already half way there, you just asked a bunch of internet weirdos to push you into it…

perchypanther
    Free Member

Take a puppet. You remain silent and let the puppet do the talking?

TheBrick
    Free Member

chat someone up on private chat first then you will have some familiarity

Careful last time.e I did that I got a picture sent to me of a Pet snake. I don’t even like snakes.!?!

perchypanther
    Free Member

Careful last time.e I did that I got a picture sent to me of a Pet snake. I don’t even like snakes.!?!

One eyed?

mark88