• This topic has 32 replies, 16 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by fisha.
Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Shimano Alfine 11 Reliability as of November 2015
  • forexpipz
    Free Member

It seems that after researching there is an overwhelming number of users having reliability issues with the Alfine 11.

A lot of the issues seem to pertain to a design flaw of some description with many users completely frustrated with the performance of their Alfines.

Have Shimano officially acknowledged the inherent problems with the Alfine?

The reason I ask is that I’m considering an IGH and the rohloff is out of my reach for bikepacking purposes.

What are peoples opinions.

boblo
    Free Member

Alfine 8…

forexpipz
    Free Member

The new ones or the old ones?

boblo
    Free Member

I have no knowledge of the new ones. The old ones are supposed to be very reliable. I have one with a couple of thousand miles on it and it hasn’t missed a beat. The new one is supposed to be the same but the gearing is the right way up?

riddoch

Running a couple of Alfine 11 with no problems, but not huge mileage. They are much more sensitive to cable setup than the 8, so you start getting “missed” changes, but quick fiddle with the barrel adjuster and away you go.
    Having a the standard shift direction is great and the oil port makes oil changes easy if only the shimano oil wasn’t £60 a litre.

simons_nicolai-uk
    Free Member

Shifting has always been fine on Katie’s but it’s never been able to keep the oil in the hub.

bencooper
    Free Member

I use quite a few of them on Bromptons – never had any issues at all. Perhaps it’s just that the Alfine 11 isn’t really up to the abuse of MTB use.

I might be wrong, but I thought the Rohloff was the only hub that was specifically recommended for MTB use?

scotroutes