Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Shift workers… it aint that bad is it?
  • monkey_boy
    Free Member

Morning all,

Through to the last stage of a new job application, the job will be 12 hour shifts, 3 on 3 off…

from what i can gather the shifts are all over the shop but when starting off and when training is done its going to be something like 06.00 > 6, 07.00 > 7, 08.00 > 8 etc etc

I have never done shift work before but always had a bizarre hankering to give it a go.

I am 39 with a 3 year old and the wife…

I can imagine if I get the job there will be two things that will initially mess me up..

1 – when to actually go to sleep after a shift is finished if i get home at stupid o’clock.

2 – when everyone is in work and im on my tod and the cleaning shoppings been done i’ll be at a loose end and will freak out…

any words of wisdom or share your experiences, haven’t got it yet but no harm in asking/dreaming…

cheers

BillMC

I worked permanent nights at Smith’s Crisps when I was a student. I felt like I never got a proper ‘night’s’ sleep and have never bought a packet of crisps since. So some good came out of it.

Drac

Shift work is great I’ve done 12 hours shift for over 20 years now. You soon get use to the sleep patterns and being off when everyone else is at work means you have quiet trails, places to visit with you 3 year old will be very quiet and shops not jammed.

You also get use to the headaches, stomach problems, insomnia, irregular meals and lack of daylight in winter after about 40 years.

piemonster

I have no useful contribution to make.

But I’m going to anyway, I used to do 4 on 4 off. 9.45am to 9pm.

It was absolutely brilliant, a long weekend every 4 days is genius. And I started late enough to have a blast on the bike before work. And finished early enough to go for a pint.

But, no wife or kids. And a different shift pattern. Kinda makes this post worthless.

_tom_
    Free Member