Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Shares/Stocks type folk – what's wrong with this Q1 financial report?
  • psychle
    Free Member

Intralinks Q1 report, released today, subsequent 33% drop in share price from USD$30 to USD$20. I’m no expert (a rank amateur in fact!) but as my wife owns shares in the company (through an employee scheme) we’re a little curious as to what the problem is? It all looks kind of positive to me, didn’t expect such a massive market reaction, or are we not seeing something obvious?

Cheers 🙂

BoardinBob

Did they split the shares? We did this a few years ago and the share price went from $50 per share to $25, but shareholders now had twice as many shares.

Everything in the earnings looks good and is certainly an improvement over last years numbers and they seem to be expecting a ramp up in earnings towards the end of the year based on what I can see so unless they’ve split the shares, perhaps an analyst has released a negative forecast for the future which would contradict everything in that report.

ourmaninthenorth

I suspect it’s because there’s more to the market sentiment than the figures alone suggest. Either, there’s something external (imminent market collapse), or the reporting isn’t nearly as good as forecasted.

HughStew

Shares are priced on many things, but one of the major factors is expectation. If the market expected better results, then the share price will slide.

scaredypants

*I know **** all about money*

that’s their press release, so not guaranteed objective

did a quick google and found some **** bullshit that’s almost in the class of “a leading provider of critical information exchange solutions” :

IL stock is more volatile than most stocks. Monitor this stock for a decrease in volatility that might indicate an interesting time to buy.

IL stock pays less dividends than the average stock. This is concerning if stock is in a heavy dividend paying industry.