Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • S/H electric guitar advice
  • oldgit
    Free Member

My lad has some hard earnt cash and is after a guitar.

His come across a Jackson KVX10 King V with Cofin Case and strap for £275. It’s discribed as immaculate.
    This is exactly he ‘type’ of guitar he is after.
    What do you reckon?

tyger
    Free Member

My advice is this. I’ve been playing guitar for 30 years and you can go to a shop and see two of the same model, same spec. guitar and they will sound different whether electric or acoustic.
    At that budget forget the name, try to ignore the colour and gismos and just play as many guitars in your price range as you can. I promise you, if you do that, the guitar will find you.

(He’ll probably ingore this wisdom because of his age btw 🙂 but that’s okay, it’s how we learn)

oldgit
    Free Member

(He’ll probably ingore this wisdom because of his age btw but that’s okay, it’s how we learn)

Yep youre probably right, pretty pointless asking really.
    He has a Les Paul copy, but that weighs a ton. This is to take to hire studios and school gigs.
    He is just 13 BTW.

Sandwich

Will ask my lad what guitar he has now. It has twin humbuckers(?) and has a mighty powerful sound and cost about what you want to pay. Watch this space.

grumm
    Free Member

Does the Jackson have a Floyd Rose tremelo? I would avoid if so – unless they are very well set-up/maintained it means the guitar just goes out of tune all the time.

Junkyard
    Free Member

what tyger said is correct
    buy according to sound quality not name etc

oldgit
    Free Member

Yes it has a Floyd Rose tremelo!, it’s a flying V and it’s black and my lads 13.
    Done deal really.

guitarmanjon
    Free Member