• This topic has 8 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 11 years ago by cp.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • self build 29er disc wheels spoke opinions…
  • cp

I’m building up some new, lightweight for XC racing, Trailquests etc… 29er wheels.

Hubs are XT rear from spares & SS switch front (probably).

Rims will probably be SS Sentinel. Or Crests if I suddenly feel flush.

But spokes..?!!

So I read that Sapim recommend not using laser spokes on disc wheels. Well, back in 2001 I had some Hope hubs/XC717 built with lasers and they were perfect, no issues at all.

As far as I can tell, they are as near as dammit identical to DT revs. My current self-build wheels use rev’s (on Stans Olympic 26″) and again, absolutely fine. I don’t particularly notice flex, though I have built them on the tight side, no matter what no tubes say about tension.

But I have no experience of using them on 29er wheels. One option would be Sapim d-light or the dt equiv, but they are friggin expensive (I can do two wheels with revs for 35 quid, whereas d-light would double that at least).

Anyone running 29er wheels with DT revs (or Sapim laser for that matter)? Any opinions? Or should I just take the weight hit and build with bog standard double butted ACI?

This 29er malarky is giving me headaches!

cp

bump – anyone?

orangeboy
    Free Member

Build my front 29er wheel with super comp and a crest rim
    Been on the bike a few months and been fine

Just building the rear with plain old Dt comp as that what I had spare

Stans 29er rims do have a rather low recomened tension
    Which I followed and done not seem a problem
    But only xc so far and I’m slim

bentudder

It depends on your weight and riding style.