Viewing 29 posts - 1 through 29 (of 29 total)
  • Second hand cars, cat c and d repaired – would you buy one?
  • xcgb
    Free Member

Just looking for a second hand car for the missus, looking around 4k, there seem to be some cheaper deals around that state cat c or d repaired, as I am no mechanic is it risky?

Ta all

xiphon
    Free Member

Run!

xcgb
    Free Member

Ah so if an ad says “the car is cat c fully repaired no bang or noise”…… 😯

weeksy

Nope. I have bought CAT D motorbikes for track use though.

mike_p
    Free Member

I wouldn’t touch one. Not because of any percieved dodgyness, but because you’ll struggle to shift it later on. I recently traded in a Cat C bike, very few dealers were interested.

parkesie
    Free Member

Ive bought cat d and repaired myself. Id buy catd repaired if the price was right. Cat c id want to see before after photos and any paper work to go with vic tests etc.

hora
    Free Member

Yes. If I could see the cost/breakdown on how much/how it was repaired and by whom.

Also it’d need to be a significant saving as you’ll have to take a hit when selling on/struggle to sell unless you price it well yourself later.

Insurer may also load your insurance a wee bit? (not sure on this bit but you have to declare it).

Finally- every Cat C AND D ad that I’ve seen says ‘light bodywork damage’.

Look at ebay for before repair examples…………

hora
    Free Member
    PePPeR

My friend repairs Cat C and Cat D vehicles for a business, he always does a photo album of the vehicle showing before and after, he lists all the repairs he has had to undertake. He does good business selling them.

My next vehicle will be bought through him as I keep my cars till they’re dead so am not worried about its future resale value, I just don’t want to be spending more money than I need, to get into the car I want. I can buy a newer, lower mileage car for my budget than I otherwise would.

xcgb
    Free Member