Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • 'Saving' dead bearings….
  • DrP

So for some reason both the non driveside bearings on my FS and SS bottom brackets have given out within a week of each other! Completely seized up!

I took the shimano one (FS) out last week and was getting round to ordering a new set, and today noted the FSA (SS) one was pretty stiff too, so again got that one out.
    Thought about it for a bit, and seeing as I was about to order some new sets thought I'd stick 'em in the vice, grip the inner ring with some pliers, and try to get them spinning again….

Was pretty rough at first, but broke the 'seal' so to speak. Then got to work with alternating degreaser and GT85 until the muck running out ran clear….
    Then packed them full of grease and span them up over and over until it was smooth, cleaned them out and did it again…..

Now I'm not a mechanical engineer, but I am a 'pro garage fettler', and I reckon I've saved these bearings from the scrap heap!! They don't feel rough at all, and are spinning beautifully!

Does the STW collective have any wise words to say on the matter – do you think I'm destined to explode in a ball bearing shower, or will they hold and be good as new…? Bearing (snigger) in mind the FSA ones were 2 rides old and seized up a treat, I don't think I've done too baldy, eh?

DrP

bassspine
    Free Member

I repaired the big end bearings on a CZ175 the same way and they ran for a couple of years – until I sold it, at least, possibly longer.

gusamc
    Free Member

Did you let the greaser dryout before you added the grease ?

(Only asking as I got a right talking to for using petrol as a degreaser once from a 'professional')

Onzadog
    Free Member

Just done the same to the wife's XT HTII bottom bracket. It was about 3 years old, I reckon I'll get another year at least out of it.

DrP

Probably not……

It was finish line degreaser, and I gave it a washout with GT85 and then several packings full of grease….